What is Smart Bid?
Smart Bid is a semi-automatic campaign bidding strategy that utilizes historic data to automate your campaign's bid. Smart Bid is designed to maximize your campaign performance at scale.
What is Target CPA?
Target CPA is a function of Taboola’s Smart Bid automated bidding strategy. Smart Bid’s Target CPA will win impressions according to your CPA target.
Target CPA (cost-per-action) automatically updates your bid based on the cost per action goal of your campaign. Factoring conversions that are Included in Total Conversions, Target CPA will average the cost of conversions to hone in on your goal through auction-based automation.
This feature is best used when looking to control the cost of conversions generated through Taboola. When users visit a website, Taboola will bid according to how likely a user is to convert at your Target CPA.
Who should use Target CPA?
You should use Target CPA if you are seeking to control the cost of conversions on Taboola. If you are seeking to maximize the rate of conversions, it is best practice to use Smart Bid’s standard model.
We currently recommend Target CPA for advertisers that are tracking leads or purchases and have CPA goals above $5.
Visit this page to better understand the available bid strategies on Taboola.
|You must enable conversion reporting within Taboola Ads to use Target CPA. Target CPA is best paired with the Taboola Pixel, but is also compatible with conversions via server-to-server integrations|
How does Target CPA work?
Target CPA automatically updates your bid according to a user’s likelihood to convert, with the goal of reaching an average CPA equal to your target. Taboola will evaluate each distinct impression your campaign serves, based on numerous signals that our algorithm takes in.
Some impression opportunities may result in conversions that cost more, while other opportunities may cost less than your target. Importantly, Target CPA will make bid adjustments based on conversions that are Included in Total (you can find out more about setting up conversion events here). Over time, Taboola will keep your cost per conversion equal to the Target CPA you select.
If you choose a target CPA of $20, Taboola will automatically set your bids to reach an average cost per acquisition of $20 over time. Some days may see a cost per acquisition of higher or lower than your target.
This is due to natural fluctuations in our network - matching your campaign with the right signals that will generate conversions at your acquisition costs. Bid adjustments are made in real time, and per individual impression. This includes individual publishers, platforms, contexts, among others.
How do I set up a Target CPA campaign?
You may update your Bid Strategy from multiple fields. The following instructions indicate how to opt into Target CPA when editing a campaign.
- Click on the pencil icon to edit an existing campaign
- Go to the Bidding and Budget section
- Under Bid Strategy, toggle Target CPA under Smart Bid.
- Enter the CPA you would like Taboola to factor in future recommendations.
Additional Notes on SmartBid with Target CPA